Posted in A Picture's Worth

A Picture’s Worth: Secrets & Truth

Words have always carried more weight with me than images – give me a book over its movie any day – but I do love to see the beautiful images other people create when they’re in love with a book. That’s not my strength, but I can certainly appreciate it in others! So here’s a few of my faves based on what I’ve been reading recently.

Zahra’s Paradise

Ahhhh, this was one I’ve been wanting to read for a while. Zahra’s Paradise is published semi-anonymously, with only pen names to the title. The reason being exposure of corruption and evidence of coverups, hacking, stolen information, torture, and all sorts of horrific depressing crimes. It was originally written as an illustrated web series after the fraudulent elections in Iran in 2009. Protestors were arrested and vanished. The history included in the book is brilliantly helpful, but the emotion and the story is what really packs the punch.

Holding the book in front of the city streets reflects the spirit and nature of the story. Go out, fight, be heard. You CAN’T just stay in the comfort of home and take what’s given; you must brave the cold (snowy) reality outside.

I love the cool extra inis photo featuring a newspaper page about the book. You can see some of the amazing detail that goes into the entire book. It’s astonishing and a tribute to the lives lost, done in time given to the art.

Because I love Korean, and I love seeing books in other languages and from other countries. No matter where you are, you should be learning.

Craigslist Confessional

Remember a few days ago when I said I thought that Craigslist Confessional might be too intense for me to read? Well, I managed to buck up and press on. And I’m really glad I did, because it was as moving and emotional and fascinating as I expected. Not every story was painful… but many were.

Because this aesthetic of shadow and light fits the mood of the book. Sharing secrets, letting things out that have been hidden, but still retaining some anonymity.

View this post on Instagram

Craigslist Confessional: A Collection of Secrets from Anonymous Strangers by Helena Dea Bala ★★★☆☆ For fans of Humans of New York and PostSecret, a collection of raw, urgent, and heartfelt stories, shared anonymously. The forty confessions in Craigslist Confessional are vivid, intimate, and real. Each story is told in the confessor’s voice; they range from devastating secrets, to musings on lost love and reflections on a lifetime of hard choices. Some confessions are shocking, others are painful, some give us a glimpse into a brief chapter of someone’s life, others are inspiring. Every confession presents a point of view not often seen, not often talked about. Craigslist Confessional challenges us to explore the depth of our empathy and it’s a call to listen to one another. After listening to Helena Dea Bala’s interview with Sarah from @sarahsbookshelves , this book moved to the top of my list. Craigslist Confessional is based on such a compelling concept and it absolutely packs some punches. This book includes topics that aren’t usually discussed, much less in such a candid way, that at times it made me physically tense up and overall it left me feeling defeated and heavy. With that said, even though some chapters were physically and mentally tough to get through, I appreciated the opportunity to empathize with stories so different from my own. ⚠️ If you decide to pick this one up, please know that there are trigger warnings from beginning to end, including, but not limited to, sexual assault, sex addiction, severe depression, infidelity, homophobia, PTSD, drug addiction, domestic violence, pedophilia, mental illness, miscarriage, infertility, suicide, and SIDS.

A post shared by Bailey | #bookclub |📍Denton,TX (@alittleoverbooked) on

Because reading about secrets in public is a delicious contradiction. It also serves as a reminder that everyone around you has a life that, to them, is as multifaceted and complex and interesting as yours is to you. Be kind.

Because it partially started in D.C. so it feels fitting to have a scene with notable features in the background.

Will you be reading either of these books? Drop your thoughts so far below!

Author:

Reader, traveler, photographer, and always looking to learn!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.